Power, Corruption & Lies

New Order


Release date:



1 in stock

SKU 0825646888054 Category


180g vinyl LP

The second studio album by the most-storied band to emerge from the North of England in the late twentieth century.

180 gram vinyl repressing of this 1983 album from the Manchester quartet. New Order were one of the most successful and consistent bands of the ’80s and beyond. After the suicide of vocalist Ian Curtis, the three surviving members of Joy Division regrouped under the band name New Order, adding Gillian Gilbert on keyboards. The rest, as they say, is history.

This album established new order’s identity separate from its previous incarnation as Joy Division. This album stands not only as new order’s most defining moment, but perhaps as the most standard-setting moment in alternative dance.

Yet as definitive as they may be, New Order have outsmarted any copycats. owing in substantial part to Peter Hook’s prominent and melodic bass lines, New Order’s songs have always aspired to a complexity that maintains the band’s timelessness. rarely formulaic, new order’s songs are seldom overwhelmed by a four-on-the-floor throb.

But interesting rhythms are just one facet of this musical diamond. Their foreboding, grim, and often just plain heartbreaking lyrics present a contradiction to most dance-pop songs, whose lyrics are almost always uplifting or even evangelical.

The album features more electronic tracks than their 1981 debut ‘Movement’, with heavier use of synthesisers and electronics.

+ Pressed on black heavyweight vinyl.

Age Of Consent
We All Stand
The Village
Your Silent Face
Leave Me Alone